MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING OF ROSCOMMON COUNTY COUNCIL HELD IN COUNCIL CHAMBER, ÁRAS AN CHONTAE, ROSCOMMON, ON MONDAY 14th MARCH, 2016 AT 4.30P.M.

PRESENT Councillor Paschal Fitzmaurice, Leas-Cathaoirleach PRESIDED

MEMBERS: Cllr. V. Byrne Cllr. N. Dineen Cllr. L. Fallon Cllr. I. Connaughton

Cllr. J. Cummins Cllr. J. Naughten Cllr. K. Shanagher Cllr. T. Ward

Cllr. O. Leyden Cllr. J. Keogh Cllr. M. Hopkins

OFFICIALS: Ms. Majella Hunt, Deputy Chief Executive

Mr. Derek Caldbeck, A/Head of Finance Ms. Patricia Bohan, Meetings Administrator

31.16. FILLING OF CASUAL VACANCY

On the **PROPOSAL** of Councillor Cummins

SECONDED by Councillor Leyden

It was **AGREED** that Mr. Joe Murphy would be co-opted to the Council to fill the vacancy created by the election of Eugene Murphy to Dáil Éireann.

On the **PROPOSAL** of Councillor Cummins

SECONDED by Councillor Leyden

It was **AGREED** that Mr. Joe Murphy fills the vacancy on the Housing & Corporate SPC and the Environmental & Emergency Services SPC.

The Leas-Cathaoirleach declared Mr. Joe Murphy, Gortlustia, Scramogue, Co. Roscommon as coopted to fill the vacancy and asked him to take his seat in the Council Chamber. Leas-Cathaoirleach Paschal Fitzmaurice and the elected members welcomed Mr. Joe Murphy to the Chamber. They congratulated Deputies Murphy, Naughten and Fitzmaurice on their recent election success.

Ms. Majella Hunt, Deputy Chief Executive on behalf of the Executive and staff of Roscommon County Council congratulated Cllr. Joe Murphy on his co-option. She extended her best wishes and congratulations to Deputy Eugene Murphy and wished him well in Dáil Éireann.

Cllr. Joe Murphy thanked his proposer and seconder and said it was a great honour to have been co-opted. He pledged to work with the other elected members and looked forward to representing the people of Boyle Municipal District.

This concluded the business of the meeting.

The foregoing Minutes are Confirmed and Signed:	
Meetings Administrator	
	Cathaoirleach
Countersigned	