## MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING OF ROSCOMMON COUNTY COUNCIL HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COURTHOUSE, ROSCOMMON, ON MONDAY THE 27<sup>TH</sup> JUNE, 2016 AT 2.15 P.M.

PRESENT Councillor Tony Ward, Cathaoirleach PRESIDED

MEMBERS: V. Byrne I. Connaughton D. Connolly M. Creaton

N. Dineen R. Doherty L. Fallon P. Fitzmaurice
L. Callaghan J. Cummins J. Keogh O. Leyden
M. Mulligan J. Murphy J. Naughten K. Shanagher

P. Kilduff.

**OFFICIALS:** Mr. Eugene Cummins, Chief Executive

Ms. Majella Hunt, Director of Services Mr. Martin Lydon, A/Director of Services Mr. Derek Caldbeck, A/Head of Finance Ms. Patricia Bohan, Meetings Administrator

Paddy Kilduff, Cathaoirleach welcomed everyone to the Annual General Meeting of Roscommon County Council. He started the meeting by thanking all staff for such wonderful help during his year as Cathaoirleach especially during the flooding crisis where all worked beyond capacity including outdoor staff, fire brigade and civil defence. He also thanked his fellow Councillors for their cooperation over the last year and was delighted to be the last Cathaoirleach in the old Courthouse and the first in the new Civic Headquarters.

## 69.16. ELECTION OF CATHAOIRLEACH:

The Cathaoirleach invited proposals for the election of Cathaoirleach.

It was **PROPOSED** by Councillor Dineen **SECONDED** by Councillor Connaughton

That Councillor Tony Ward be elected Cathaoirleach.

The Cathaoirleach declared Councillor Tony Ward to be elected Cathaoirleach of Roscommon County Council for the coming year.

At this stage Councillor Paddy Kilduff vacated the Chair and Councillor Tony Ward assumed the position of Cathaoirleach.

Councillor Tony Ward said it is a privilege and honour and thanked all his colleagues on his unanimous election as Cathaoirleach and is looking forward to working with the Chief Executive and all staff. He thanked Councillor Paddy Kilduff for his excellent work over the last year in promoting the County of Roscommon at numerous events. He welcomed his wife Nora, family, friends and was very grateful to all who supported him. He said that he would prioritise job creation, economic development and improved services for older people during his term.

## 70.16. ELECTION OF LEAS-CATHAOIRLEACH:

The Cathaoirleach invited proposals for the election of Leas-Cathaoirleach.

It was **PROPOSED** by Councillor Shanagher **SECONDED** by Councillor Fitzmaurice

That Councillor Nigel Dineen be elected Leas-Cathaoirleach.

As there was no other nomination for the office of Leas-Cathoirleach, Councillor Nigel Dineen was declared the elected Leas-Cathoirleach of Roscommon County Council for the coming year.

The members congratulated Councillors Ward and Dineen on their new positions.

Eugene Cummins, Chief Executive congratulated Councillors Ward and Dineen on their positions and wished them well in the year ahead. He thanked Councillor Kilduff for his co-operation during the last ten months, it was a pleasure working with you and I wish you well in the rest of your term.

Finally the Cathaoirleach Tony Ward congratulated Councillor Nigel Dineen on his election as leascathaoirleach and invited all present to the Abbey Hotel for refreshments following the plenary meeting.

## 71.16. FIXING OF DATES FOR COUNTY COUNCIL MEETINGS:

It was **PROPOSED** by Councillor Shanagher **SECONDED** by Councillor Fitzmaurice

And AGREED that the following should be the dates for holding the Plenary Meetings in 2016/2017:-

25<sup>th</sup> July, 2016 No Meeting in August 26<sup>th</sup> September 2016 24<sup>th</sup> October, 2016 28<sup>th</sup> November 2016 19<sup>th</sup> December, 2016 23<sup>rd</sup> January 2017 27<sup>th</sup> February, 2017 27<sup>th</sup> March, 2017 24<sup>th</sup> April, 2017 22<sup>nd</sup> May 2017

Annual Meeting - 26th June, 2017

This concluded the business of the meeting.

The foregoing Minutes are Confirmed and Signed

_	Meetings Administrator

Cathaoirleach	
	Countersigned