MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING OF ROSCOMMON COUNTY COUNCIL HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COURTHOUSE, ROSCOMMON, ON MONDAY THE 22ND JUNE, 2015 AT 2.15 P.M.

PRESENT Councillor Paddy Kilduff, Cathaoirleach PRESIDED

MEMBERS: V. Byrne I. Connaughton D. Connolly M. Creaton

N. Dineen
M. Doherty
M. Hopkins
J. Cummins
J. Keogh
M. Mulligan
E. Murphy
J. Naughten
K. Shanagher

T. Ward.

OFFICIALS: Tommy Ryan, Chief Executive

Majella Hunt, Director of Services

Martin Lydon, Head of Finance & Planning

Pat Murtagh, A/Director of Services John O'Rourke, A/ Director of Services Fíona ní Chuinn, Meetings Administrator

John Cummins, Cathaoirleach welcomed everyone to the Annual General Meeting of Roscommon County Council. He started the meeting by extending his sympathies to the families of the students who lost their lives in the Berkeley tragedy. He informed the meeting that a book of condolence was available for members of the public in the foyer of the Courthouse. He requested the media to inform the public about the book of condolence. A minutes silence was held.

John Cummins, Cathaoirleach continued and thanked all the elected members for their cooperation over the last year. He congratulated Mary Small on her upcoming retirement and thanked her for all her help over the years.

60.15. ELECTION OF CATHAOIRLEACH:

The Cathaoirleach invited proposals for the election of Cathaoirleach.

It was **PROPOSED** by Councillor Murphy **SECONDED** by Councillor Ward

That Councillor Paddy Kilduff be elected Cathaoirleach.

It was **PROPOSED** by Councillor Creaton

SECONDED by Councillor Naughten

That Councillor Domnick Connolly be elected Cathaoirleach.

A vote was taken on the election of Cathaoirleach which resulted as follows:-

VOTING FOR THE ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR KILDUFF:-

Councillors Connaughton, Cummins, Dineen, Doherty, Fitzmaurice, Kilduff, Leyden, Murphy, Shanagher, Ward (10)

VOTING FOR THE ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR CONNOLLY:-

Councillors Byrne, Connolly, Creaton, Fallon, Hopkins, Mulligan, Naughten (7)

ABSTENTION:

Councillor John Keogh (1)

The Cathaoirleach declared Councillor Paddy Kilduff to be elected Cathaoirleach of Roscommon County Council for the coming year.

At this stage Councillor John Cummins vacated the Chair and Councillor Paddy Kilduff assumed the position of Cathaoirleach.

Councillor Paddy Kilduff thanked his proposer and seconder. He congratulated Councillor Connolly for putting his name forward and wished him well. He thanked Councillor John Cummins for his excellent work over the last year in promoting the County of Roscommon at numerous events. He welcomed his family and friends to the meeting especially his old school friend Fr. Pat Brennan.

Councillor Kilduff confirmed that Roscommon County Council is in a period of tremendous change with lack of staff resources and hopes that the embargo on staff will soon be lifted. The opening of the new Civic HQ will create greater efficiencies and delivery of services to the public and he looks forward to the many events and opportunities in the year ahead.

61.15. ELECTION OF LEAS-CATHAOIRLEACH:

The Cathaoirleach invited proposals for the election of Leas-Cathaoirleach.

It was **PROPOSED** by Councillor Leyden **SECONDED** by Councillor Shanagher

That Councillor Paschal Fitzmaurice be elected Leas-Cathaoirleach.

As there was no other nomination for the office of Leas-Cathoirleach, Councillor Paschal Fitzmaurice was declared the elected Leas- Cathaoirleach of Roscommon County Council for the coming year

The members congratulated Councillors Kilduff and Fitzmaurice on their new positions.

Tommy Ryan, Chief Executive congratulated Councillors Kilduff and Fitzmaurice on their positions and wished them well in the year ahead. He thanked Councillor Cummins for his work as Cathaoirleach and complimented him on his work and integrity over the last year.

62.15. FIXING OF DATES FOR COUNTY COUNCIL MEETINGS:

It was **PROPOSED** by Councillor Ward **SECONDED** by Councillor Creaton

And **AGREED** that the following should be the dates for holding the Plenary Meetings in 2015/2016:-

28th September, 2015 Budget meeting (November date TBA) 23rd November, 2015 25th January, 2016 21st March, 2016 23rd May, 2016 27th June, 2016 – Annual Meeting

The foregoing Minutes are

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Confirmed and Signed	
	Meetings Administrator
Cathaoirleach	
	Countersigned